Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andreark

Dr. Tommy Cairns and mulch

andreark
11 years ago

Some of you know that I am a floundering rose novice.

I just read an article that states that Dr. Cairns says

never to use bark or colored mulch on your roses....

Well, guess what? I covered my new rose garden with

Scott's Earthgrow Red mulch...

Now what? If you all think that this is NOT a great thing, then I

will shovel it all up this weekend and replace it

with what ever you all suggest.

Thanks

Andrea

Comments (32)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    11 years ago

I don't know about the particular brand you mentioned, but I regularly add pine bark mulch.

If the mulch you used is "dyed" red, I'm not sure what I think about all these new dyed mulches, but I certainly would not shovel it all up once I took the trouble to put it down--but I might decide to switch to pine bark mulch the next time around.

Yes, there are some gardeners who are opposed to mulch. To each his/her own, I guess. : )

Kate

• mike_rivers
    11 years ago

Dr. Cairns favored compost over any other mulch material for roses, no matter whether the other material is bark, colored or what have you. His thought was that compost is just as good at stopping weeds and in addition it supports living organisms which lower the population of harmful fungus spores either by competing for food or by actually devouring the spores.
    I think Cairns makes a good point and if you agree, I think the simplest thing to do is just mix an inch or so of compost in with the Earthgro shredded pine bark mulch you've already applied.

• Glenburn
    11 years ago

Andrea, the colored bark/mulsh looks good. What is needed in a mulch in various sizes of material, can you imagine a bisciut of hay/lucerne/alfafa, some bigger than others, the smaller material breaks down for the earthworms/microbes to add it to the surrounding soils which intern becomes food for the roses

• michaelg
    11 years ago