Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beigestonehill

YIKES please help

beigestonehill
9 years ago

So I am a professional gardener and have steered most the people I garden for away from roses they are fussy painful and hate the heat and humidity of Virginia. I just got a job on an estate that has at least 35 David Austin roses. I have fed them, pruned them, sprayed them for black spot and Japanese Beetles and sprayed them some more. Right now they look awful, really awful, I know as the weather cools they will get happy again but the owners of the property will be back in about 20 days and she will have a heart attack if she sees her roses in this condition. What can I do to get them leafed out and healthy again. I water them twice a week and feed them with spray and grow and compost. All advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Comments (52)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

We need a lot more information.

1. Describe "awful". What do they look like, specifically? Holes in the leaves? Spots on the leaves? Issues with the blooms? Other issues?
    2. As Kippy asked, what specifically are you "spraying" with, the insecticide and the fundicide?
    3. How are you watering? Sprinklers? Drip irrigation? By hand? How long is each watering?
    4. What are you using for fertilizer? Only "Spray and Grow"?

BTW, there are many rose varieties (that are not named "Knock Out") that can do well in VA without a lot of care, you just have to ask us. :-)

• catsrose
    9 years ago

Your boss is probably aware that her DAs have trouble in the summers here and isn't expecting miracles. And they will leaf out again as the weather cools down. Also, you can overkill your "cures." Also it is a waste of time to spray for Japanese beetles.