Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Belinda's Dream: Do you feed yours?

Posted by Diana395 8b- Gulfport, Missis (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 16, 13 at 20:23

I'm new to roses other than a few Knockouts and Drifts, but I planted three 2 gallon Belinda's Dream late last summer that I found marked down at Home Depot (yes, not the greatest start). I got a decent flush of blooms in the fall --but nothing crazy floriferous-- but was just happy they were healthy and settling in well. This year's performance has been OK but nothing as abundant as others describe. One big flush once the weather hit 80 degrees and another smaller one six weeks later. Only three or four flowers since. Right now i have two but these are tiny... like a quarter of the normal bloom size. Should I be applying something like MG rose food?

The repeat blooms have only come after i finally got tired of waiting and pruned them a little. Is that standard operating procedure? Also I have several tall green stems that I can't find any bud eyes on. Any advice would be much appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Belinda's Dream: Do you feed yours?

• Posted by jim1961 5/6 Central Pa. (My Page) on
    Fri, Aug 16, 13 at 22:20

Deadheading / pruning off the dead blooms...
This does help with more repeat blooming as you already found out when you pruned alittle...

I do not use much fertilizer so I'll let someone else help you with that...

o

Roses are pigs when it comes to food. They like the stuff. Not too much all at once, but in regular, small applications, preferably. And they usually don't give a hoot if it was the expensive name-brand stuff or some cheap knock-off that was on sale when you happened to walk by it. And they also don't care if it was labeled "organic" or not.

So go for it. Feed them, give them enough water and sunlight and they will bloom.

o