Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thorngrower

New to HT's As I haven't bought any yet..

Hi

I've been growing shrub roses for 12 yrs or so. Some old once bloomers some modern shrubs. I have a few spots where I'd like color all summer and since some of my favorite gallicas have been sending out runners I have moved my fav's to new locations. Now I have a few front and center places. I really would love to try a few HT's. I'm in Z5 hot and humid summers so Black spot is a big issue. Many roses have been placed to the curb for monday garbage pickup. I do not spray, thats the main reason I haven't tried any ht's.. I love all solid colours red the best. Any suggestions would be greatly appr.

Mark

Comments (14)

• zack_lau z6 CT ARS Consulting Rosarian
    12 years ago

I'd suggest visiting other rose gardens in your climate to see if there are any varieties that meet your standards. By fall, the ones you want to avoid will show signs of the disease. An exception might be an exhibitor growing roses for fall shows--diligent spraying every week can keep those gardens completely free of BS. Sometimes it does take a year or two for BS to show up on newly developed varieties.

• michaelg
    12 years ago

Few if any HTs will keep their leaves all summer without spray. The most resistant for me is Elina. Naga Belle and The McCartney Rose are resistant in some gardens, depending on the races of blackspot present.

For good repeat bloom and HT-like flowers, I'd suggest you try Prairie Harvest, Earth Song, and Mother of Pearl.

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    12 years ago

If you don't spray at all, I'm not sure you will be happy with HTs. They all tend to blackspot--some just a little, many very much.