Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blackgavotte

Austins for the Maritimes?

blackgavotte
10 years ago

I am utterly discouraged with the poor health of my three Austins.. Winchester Cathedral, Teasing Georgia, Falstaff. I have grown and loved these English types for years on the west coast of Canada, but 2 years ago this month moved to Nova Scotia... the wind, fog, and salt seemingly have all but killed my beloved Englishes. I have these 3 in a sheltered location, and they receive tons of sun, but still are really sad. The explorer types in another location are doing well enough, but sadly I just don't love them the same way. Any suggestions perhaps for better choices or do I really have to accept this prognosis and perhaps shovel prune them by next year at latest?

Comments (25)

• a_roy
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hey,
    I live in New Brunswick. A bit cooler here but same kind of humidity you deal with. I'm new to roses and can't give you good advice, but I can share my experience with Austins. I planted 5 William Shakespeare, 5 Gertrude Gekyll this spring. They are all vigorous growers with WS putting out flush after flush of great fragrant blooms, unfortunately they blackspot, especially WS. I will only keep one Gertrude Jekyll and spray it, WS is going.
    The Explorer roses I don't have to spray at all . Quadra is great, and Henry Kelsey is exceptional, it has the nicest glossy foliage with absolutely no spray. Both Henry Kelseys repeat slowly but the plant is growing nicely, I plan to add more next spring.
    I also should mention Eutin, I planted four this spring, all healthy and I haven't seen a day this summer without lots of blooms.
    Arnold

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago