Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragoonsers

Need help with potting mix for container roses.

dragoonsers
10 years ago

Hello again,

Same old question but where I live there's no potting soil in bags anywhere. These are the ingredients I have:

Compost
Rotted Cow Manure
Sweet river sand
Garden soil (its clay-ey loam)
Coconut coir bricks
Bone meal, fish meal and blood meal

Any idea how I can use these?

Best,

H

Comments (13)

• michaelg
    10 years ago

British pot gardeners have long used a mixture something like 1/3 sand, 1/3 peat, and 1/3 loamy garden soil. Peat is coarser and more durable than compost. Because of that and the heaviness of your loam, I would try 1/2 sand, 1/4 soil, 1/4 organic matter, with more compost than manure.

I have no experience with coir blocks, but if you could beat it into small pieces and dust, it would be a durable peat-like material that you could substitute for some of the sand and some of the organic material in that mix. It would retain water/nutrients better than sand and maintain volume better than compost.

Don't over-fertilize the soil mix. 10% manure gives enough nutrients for months of growth. You can apply fish or blood at the surface later on as needed. None of your fertilizers contains potassium. You can get that from green garden waste or vegetable scraps that have not been leached by rain, also from vegetable cooking water.

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

I know someone who uses those coir bricks exclusively for rooting rose cuttings so I think it would be good in a mix. Break it up very fine and mix it in with the garden soil and add some of the other organics. You just want to end up with a mix that is light weight and drains very well.

• kstrong
    10 years ago