Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
toddy89

Help! RRD?

toddy89
9 years ago

Hi

We purchased a whiskey mac tea rose last week from our local garden centre, when we bought it it was all pruned back for winter. However since we bought it it's had something of a growth spurt and I'm wondering if it's got rose rosette disease. It's got tons of new growth on it, all of which is red foliage with no sign of rose buds. There also now appears to be lots of tiny thorns appearing on it. Is this RRD?

I'm new to this and this rose is a gift for someone in rememberance of their son so I don't want to be giving her an unhealthy plant that's likely to perish. Because it was a gift my other half kept it inside for the first 2 days with the intention of dropping it off - could this explain the growth?

Thanks - any help greatly appreciated.

Comments (13)

• toddy89
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Another image.

• toddy89
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Another image.

• toddy89
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Another image.

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago

Wow--you should rejoice. That is one healthy rose eager and willing to grow and eventually bloom. Time to do your HHRD (Happy Happy Rose Dance). : )

Nothing even remotely worrisome there. RRD symptoms are UGLY. That new red growth is beautiful! By the way, the new growth on many roses will be red for a time. That is normal.

Enjoy!

Kate

• michaelg
    9 years ago

I haven't grown the variety, but it's probably OK. If so, the lower red leaves will start turning green in a few days as flower buds develop..

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago