Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rachani

Canker?

rachani
9 years ago

I'm afraid I'm loosing this Charles de Gaulle to canker,

I've been growing roses in containers for a few years (because I am a renting gardener and an idealistic, unrealistic and impractical one too ). Thing is, those canes began looking ugly almost from the moment Monsieur de Gaulle had to endure a zone 10 summer heat, and nornally I wouldnt mind loosing a cane here o there, but I'm thinking this time it could just not be mere sunburn.
And I`ve noticed some little damage on The Rose the Nursey Sold Me as Summer Song. So, now I'm worried.
Rose is apparently fine in its upper section, producing buds, doing a little flowering etc, but, what do you think, is it canker? bad sunburn?

Comments (5)

• iris_gal
    9 years ago

I also have a rose showing a couple of canes like yours. I thought if pruning cuts were painted it would prevent it the insect from laying eggs in the freshly cut pith area. Now I read it is a fungus and I need to spray with a fungicide? 2nd call for help.

• michaelg
    9 years ago

Normally, canker is not something that you "get" and then it spreads uncontrollably unless treated. The spores are always around and can infect wounds during cool, damp weather, so you lose an occasional cane. It is part of rose gardening. Usually the canker spot will be contained by the rose's immune system and will become inactive, leaving a patch of dead bark. However, some roses are particularly susceptible. I discarded 'Brass Band' because it was canker-ridden in our climate. Maybe 'Charles de Gaulle' is one such, but I have not grown it. I would be tempted to give that plant a severe pruning once it cools off and good zone 10 growing weather develops. I'm not sure that's the best course, however.