Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Transplanting Bands

Posted by icebird28 Dallas (icebird24@yahoo.com) on
Sat, Sep 22, 12 at 17:29

All,

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading everyone's thoughts and comments on roses on here. I'm a newbie and have never grown roses before and went a little crazy on bare roots for coming spring, however, I did receive 3 from Heirloom Roses which I think are called bands. I have a U-shaped house with a large deck in the middle where I have these 3 and they are getting several hours of morning sun.

I also have several 1 gallon plastic pots for them. My question is what is the best soil to pot them in or "homemade" recipe? They are growing fantastic putting out new reddish leaves like crazy so its time to graduate them up to a bigger pot.

Also, since I work for a food mfg company I have obtained many 5 gallon pails that I plan to drill holes in for the upcoming roses in spring since I just bought this house and intend on overhauling the yard after the foundation is repaired.

Please be gentle on me; I'd really like to give these 3 babies the best chance by providing them the best potting soil.

Sorry for rambling.

Michael

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Transplanting Bands

A premium potting mix is usually pretty good. Something with organics and goodies like mycorrhizae for root health. I also mix in a little pumice. Don't forget the names on the sides of the pots. The band ID plastics always seem to fade out on me.

o
RE: Transplanting Bands

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Sat, Sep 22, 12 at 22:08

Hi Michael! Welcome to roses!