Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melz_gw

Buying Roses By Mail or Online

melz
16 years ago

There are a few special varieties that I would like to add next season. I always buy locally but may have to start looking for a mail-order source. There are many out there and I am fairly new to this. They all look good online. I would appreciate a few suggestions as to the most reliable vendors.

Comments (25)

• bettym_grow
    16 years ago

Chamblee's in TX. is very good. Nice customer service and beautiful roses. You can order on-line. Probably my favorite at this point. Super fat canes, and healthy plants.

Another good online vendor is Pickering. I've had good luck with their roses as well. Online ordering as well.

Regan Nurseries in CA has some harder to find roses, I bought Leonidas & Black Bacarra from them.

Ashdown Roses in NC. has also been a vendor I've used. I like their web page.

Betty

• katefisher
    16 years ago

May I ask what roses you are looking for? Believe it or not that can make a difference.

I have made several purchases from Heirloom Roses and David Austin Roses. Been happy with both vendors so far. Next spring I will be receiving roses from Roses Unlimited and Hortico. The former has a great reputation, the latter not so much. I'm keeping my fingers crossed on the rose from Hortico which is 'Canary Bird'. Since I cannot seem to find it anywhere else I am kind of living on the edge with that one.

Hope this helps.

Kate

• judith5bmontreal
    16 years ago

I've ordered from Pickering in the past, and again for next spring. Very satisfied with their plants and service. I am also ordering quite a few from Palatine this spring, as they have been getting wonderful reviews from other forum members. They ship to the U.S.
    Judith

• ceterum
    16 years ago