Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Preparing Knock Outs for Winter

Posted by north_ca_rose 9b (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 8, 12 at 23:25

While visiting my parents in Lancaster County, PA (zone 6b) this summer, my husband and I pruned my mother's roses. She has a few polyanthas, climbing roses, and many Knock Outs. The roses responded well to the pruning as we removed lots of dead wood, and they now look so much better (I've seen pictures).

She has now asked me how she should prepare the Knock Outs for the winter. As I garden in Northern Ca, I have no experience with preparing roses for the winter. Does she cut them back before winter? If so, how much? Advice from northern gardeners would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
Karen

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Preparing Knock Outs for Winter

She ignores them.

Knock Outs in particular seem to be prone to winter canker problems if they are fussed with in the fall. I wouldn't cut them back then, and absolutely, under no circumstances would I put any sort of 'winter protection' over them. Then in the spring, prune them like the floribundas they are.

o

I am not far from them (state college, pa) and I have had knockouts for years. I put about three inches of mulch down but make sure not to touch the rose due to canker sores. The one time I pruned back in the fall, I had the most amount of winter damage so now I just prune dead wood in the spring. Besides that one time, I have never experienced huge cane loss in the the winter. I have canes over seven feey tall thay only lose tips. I also have had no need to water them through the winter since we get enough rain.

o