Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alisidewinder06

my roses need help!

AliSidewinder06
10 years ago

My poor rose bush. I have no idea what is going on with it. It is loosing a lot of leaves, many of the branches have died, its not producing nearly as many roses as last year. its very sick. I have tried fertilizer, mulch, pruning, trimming, I have done just about everything. I'm afraid I am making it worse. It does not help that I can not determine which species of rose it is.

This bush is very important to me. My long term boyfriend got it for me because he wanted me to have roses all year long not just on special occasions. He found this rose bush growing in the wild and brought it home for me. Then it was standing 6 feet tall. It transferred well and has been in it's new home for 3 years and was perfectly fine. Now it stands 10 feet tall and has been looking sickly the past couple of months. I am at my end I don't know what else to do. I am a novice and I turn to the advice of experts. Please someone help.

Comments (16)

• michaelg
    10 years ago

It has probably been defoliated by blackspot disease, which shows yellowing behind dark spots with the leaf dropping after a couple of weeks. Blackspot can be controlled by applying fungicide every two weeks throughout the growing season. One of the most effective products is Bayer Advanced Disease Control for Roses, Flowers, and Shrubs (that exact name, not any other Bayer product-- try Lowe's or go online). Apply it with a pump-up tank sprayer.

I would cut it back to about 3 feet, removing any dead canes, and withhold fertilizer until it has plenty of new green leaves. Roses will need 3 gallons of water twice a week during warm weather.

This post was edited by michaelg on Tue, Oct 8, 13 at 16:07

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago