Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bellarosa009

Master gardener advice on roses

bellarosa
9 years ago

So, I'm no rose expert but I'm been growing them for over 20 years. I have around 30 of them scattered around my yard. Anyway, this past weekend I went to a local nursery to see if there were any good deals on roses. While I was there, a woman struck up a conversation with me about roses. She said that she had a friend who was a Master Gardener who told her to treat roses like annuals. I told her that no, that's not true. I told her that there are hardy roses, like Canadian Explorer roses, rugosa and the older varieties. I also told her that hybrid teas can be iffy in Zone 5 (Chicago), but if you protect them by mounding them, they can usually do well. Ugh...I hate when folks say that roses are annuals. That's just bad advice. Phew..ok, I feel better now. I just had to rant. LOL.

Comments (21)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    9 years ago

Sad and frustrating, but not surprising, I'm afraid.

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    9 years ago

It's amazing that "master gardeners" think the only roses in existence are hybrid teas and floribundas. Very disappointing, too, since so much misinformation is passed on that way. I'm glad that you were able to correct that error. Gardens everywhere would be a lot more interesting if the general public knew of the many different varieties that can be grown in almost any climate.

Ingrid

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

if you ever took the master gardener class ...

you might not be impressed with peeps who claim that as their ONLY qualification ...

dont get me wrong... its better than nothing ... and gold stars for doing it ...

but in reality ... its isnt much of a curriculum vitae ... [not to mention.. the whole.. a friend of a friend told me this info ... lol ...]

ken

• bellarosa
    Original Author
    9 years ago