Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasminerose4u

Saint Patrick Cut rose doesn't open

I'm new to rose gardening and have some roses on order for spring (Can't wait for Annie Laurie McDowell). To ease the waiting period, a very nice rose society friend shared some cut roses from her garden with me. She brought over blooms of Moonstone and Saint Patrick. As the days went by, the Moonstone rose opened, but the Saint Patrick rose stayed frozen in place. The photo posted was taken a week later. I have seen beautiful photographs of Saint Patrick, so I assume the rose opens just fine on the bush. Is this a typical experience with Saint Patrick? I am looking for a nice yellow rose to go next to a red hybrid tea. Thank you.

Comments (12)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    10 years ago

It looks like the petals have been wet or damaged by a fungal disease called botrytis. The petals get stuck together when this happens, and the blooms won't open.

• jerijen
    10 years ago

Plus -- 'St. Patrick' loves heat. So, when the weather is chilly, it may have problems opening, or open poorly.

In my coastal climate, I figured it wasn't a good option for my garden. So, I asked Tom Carruth: "How's 'St. Patrick' likely to look, in my conditions?"

Tom replied:
    "Butt ugly."

So, we never planted 'St. Patrick' here.

Jeri

• Jasminerose, California, USDA 9b/Sunset 18
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I think you could be right. It is pretty dry in zone 8b, but my friend waters her roses daily. It could be too much for this rose. Thank you for your response.

• deervssteve
    10 years ago

I have had roses do that before. Not heat related. I call it balling.

Picture taken a few minutes ago.

• susan4952
    10 years ago

Were the sepals down? I like to fill my vases almost to the top. They need water to expand their tissue. All of the above are also possible. Some roses are more prone to things than others. My SP has very tight large buds. Did not like Chicago!

• susan4952
    10 years ago