Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mudhoney

What's up with stripping leaves on shipped roses?

mudhoney
9 years ago

I just got my shipment of own-root roses in bands, they are small but they look well-rooted, so I'm sure they'll do just fine. All the leaves were stripped--fortunately I had read of this before and I wasn't completely shocked. But I have to say--I am a landscaper, have been in the nursery and landscaping industry for many, many years, and I can think of no benefit to the plant from stripping the leaves. Even if they were burnt, or frosted, the plant could still pull energy out of them before dormancy. I would rather see leaves even if they looked like crap.

The only benefit seems to me a psychological one for the consumer--can't see any leaves that look bad, nothing to complain about. Please tell me this is not the case, and that there is some physiological reason why stripping the leaves is of benefit to the plant.

Comments (10)

• Kippy
    9 years ago

I would love to know as well.

I got roses from Oregon and Texas with leaves striped. I have kept them out of the hard sun so they would not get sun burnt.

• cecily
    9 years ago

I live in an area with high BS pressure and so I'm BS-phobic. I prefer stripped foliage to reduce the possibility of introducing yet another strain of BS into my garden.

• anntn6b
    9 years ago

Let me add to what Cecily said, it's not just blackspot that comes on leaves. I have received rust on leaves from a now-gone nursery in California. I'm pretty sure that they wouldn't have sent the plant out with rust showing blatently (and it wasn't rust season out there), my best guess is that the rust spores germinated in their cross country incubation box, and so I got to find them. Fortunately I knew what to do.

The benefit to the plant (AND REST OF THE GARDEN) is to leave behind any problems.

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago