Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasminerose4u

Mason jar-rose propagation

I'm attempting to propagate rose cuttings using the Mason jar method to create a mini greenhouse. It's been three weeks since I first placed the cuttings in potting soil and they are green with new growth. I've never done this before, so out of curiosity, I carefully removed one of the cuttings, hoping to see roots. I saw nothing. How can the cuttings still be green without roots? Is there still a chance roots will grow? And when should I remove the Mason jar? Right now, I have the cuttings in partial sun. They are underneath a patio overhang made of 1x1 wood slats. It is Southern California and we are having temps in the low 80s, so I didn't know if I could put them in full sun. But could more sun encourage roots? If I'm not successful, I plan to try the burrito method. But this is a difficult to find rose and it would be great to be successful. Any advice is appreciated.

Comments (15)

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

Roses store energy in their canes. What you're seeing is the rose using that energy to produce new top growth even though there are no roots. This happens often when trying to root cuttings. It doesn't mean they won't still root for you though. If the canes are still green all the way down to the soil line just leave them alone and wait.

Under a mason jars and with 80 degree temps I wouldn't put them in full sun. The glass jar magnifies the sun and heat and they will cook inside the jar, Since they're not drying out or turning black they're still doing well so leave them where they are. Rooting is about patience. Some roses will root in just 3 weeks but others may take as long as 6 to 8 weeks to root. If the leaves shrivel and/or the canes blacken then they've died and they won't root.

• Jasminerose, California, USDA 9b/Sunset 18
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you, Seil. I will be patient and it's good to know not to put them in full sun.

• anntn6b