Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ameri2nal

Sunny Knockout?

I see Bill Radler has added a yellow to his famous family. Has anyone grown it? I'm interested in its size, and how the flowers do in the sun. Do they blanch, or do they hold their color? Any commments would be helpful.

Al

Comments (8)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    16 years ago

I have no first-hand knowledge of this rose, but in the pics I've seen, it appears to be a very colorless bloom--white with kind of a faded yellowish center. I think it is ugly, if you want to know the truth, and in the past a few posters have expressed disappointment with it. However, I remember at least one poster claiming to like it, so maybe it is more a matter of taste.

Did you do a search (search box near the top of the page) of the rose forums? I know this rose has been commented on several times, although not a lot.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Kate

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    16 years ago

I don't know of anyone who has grown it. I worked at a garden center over the summer, the managers went to a trade show and saw it there. They said that the new blooms were butter yellow that faded to white as it aged. I have heard that it might not be available until 2009, limited availability in 2008.

• ltruett
    16 years ago

Here is some more info.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sunny Knockout

• Al Mitchell zone 5b (ameri2nal)
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the advice. I'm really looking for something that doesn't fade too badly, but is hardy. Tough one....

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    16 years ago

Julia Child, I think, but the zone 5ers can give more info. Also take a look at the selection at Palatine Roses.

• karl_bapst_rosenut
    16 years ago