Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bellarosa009

Planting roses now..ok to do?

bellarosa
10 years ago

Hi,
Is it ok to plant roses now? I'm in zone 5. They are forecasting low temps in our area - low 30's and possibly light snow. Ugh..should I just pot up the roses and leave them in my unheated garage? The roses are Kordes climbing roses. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Comments (9)

• michaelg
    10 years ago

Are these bare-root roses, small potted own-root roses, large potted roses from the garden center?

• lesmc
    10 years ago

I just planted 3 bare roots yesterday. I am in Louisville,Ky zone 6. This is risky, I am told, but I have done this many times with no problems. They come out strong in spring. I know this might not work this time,tho. Someone will post excellent advice for you...I am no expert! Lesley

• bellarosa
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Sorry, I should have mentioned that these are bareroot roses that were shipped to me from Palatine Nursery in Canada.

I think I'm just going to soak them tonight and plant them out tomorrow. I'll cover them up with mulch around the base. Hope they can make it through our tough Winters!

• User
    10 years ago

Newbie here. I had to move a rose right before Thanksgiving last year. The rose survived, but had a lot of winter dieback. I haven't had it long enough to tell whether it is because it is borderline winter hardy here or whether the move caused more dieback than it should have had.

I would be interested in seeing Michael's and other suggestions. Keep us posted as to how your roses turn out.

• michaelg
    10 years ago

Yes, I would plant them now. Light soil, if available, is better for mounding than organic material.

• bellarosa
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Michael, what do you mean by "light soil"? I've never heard of that term.

Thanks everyone for your input! I'll keep you posted on my roses.

• michaelg
    10 years ago