Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joopster

Black spots on leaves

joopster
10 years ago

I planted some roses 2 months ago. I spotted some black spots on their leaves. Do I need to spray the leaves so late into the season or just let them be?

Also, the roses are still in blooming. How do I stop this? We went thru couple of nights of freeze but now it warming up to the high 50s again.

This post was edited by Joopster on Mon, Nov 4, 13 at 10:23

Comments (14)

• Thunder12
    10 years ago

This is my first year growing roses, but I'll tell you what I've learned so far:

You should spray the entire plant, including the canes with a fungicide to kill the black spot. Rosemania.com has a product called Honor Guard (preventative)plus you'll need something to kill the fungus (mancozeb). You will also need a garden sprayer to mix the products in with water. After all the leaves have dropped off due to the cold weather, spray the ground around the plant because the black spot fungus will overwinter. You will need to start spraying them again in the spring when the leaves start growing.

It sounds like our weather is the same - frosts at night and 50's during the day. We still have roses on our bushes also, but no new buds have been forming since the past few weeks.

Hope this helps...

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    10 years ago

This time of year, I just let the plants be. Even my "disease resistant" varieties get some spotting this late in the season. No additional fungicide sprays until I prune next spring. And no fungicide spray will "erase" the existing spots.

You can't stop them from blooming! Some years, they will continue until a very hard freeze. Enjoy the blooms, they will stop when it is time.

• cecily
    10 years ago

Do you remember the names of your roses? You may or may not need to spray next spring -- forum members in Chicago can give suggestions if they know the varieties.

• joopster
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks all.