Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellaroset

What is the Best TRUE red rose??

EllaRoseT
11 years ago

So I'm very new to rose gardening.

I live in PA, zone 6b.

I really have enough roses to keep me VERY busy this spring; so I need to really limit my rose order this spring.

I know I definitely want at TRUE RED RED rose. I have Mr. Lincoln-- but my husband sees it as "Pink". He loves the red red roses. I'm a complete novice so I need something easy to grow.

What do you recommend for me/my climate! (must be bright blood red... no pink undertones!)

Comments (51)

• TNY78
    11 years ago

My favorite red hybrid tea is Liebeszauber. It hasn't been pink for me at all. I don't grow a lot of modern roses (ie: hybrid teas, floribundas, etc), but this one I really like!

Tammy

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    11 years ago

Olympiad. Once used as a florist rose it is a non fading, low thorned, long lasting bright cherry red rose with a nice tea fragrance. I've had blooms last almost two weeks in the vase. I have a "thing" for red modern roses so have grown quite a few over the years (including Mr. Lincoln). For your climate this one is still one of the best. I'd sure give it some serious thought.....Maryl

• TNY78
    11 years ago

oh, another one just occured to me if you don't mind a deeper red that doesn't have the traditional hybrid tea form: The Dark Lady. Really nice shaped plant, reblooms really well for me too. If you go to the Antique forum, another poster was just saying that she disliked it because it is "too red" for her....

I also forgot to mention Pied Piper which is one of my top 10 roses. Its a little harder to come by (I think it may be only offered by Vintage Gardens), but its an excellent plant, and fades to a deeper red, rather than lightening to a pink.

Tammy

Here is a link that might be useful: Pied Piper

• Poorbutroserich Susan Nashville
    11 years ago