Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sara_ann_gw

Older vs. newer

sara_ann-z6bok
10 years ago

Even though I've been growing roses for quite a few years, because I wasn't involved with them in recent years I have been out of the loop as far as knowing what some of the newer, really outstanding rose varieties are. Of course I know about Julia Child, that would be hard to miss. But more in the line of the hybrid tea and grandiflora types, what are some of the really good ones? I'm used to roses such as Queen Elizabeth, Folklore, Miss All American Beauty, Tropicana, Double Delight, Perfume Delight, Bewitched, Sweet Surrender, Love, Pristine, Peace, Tiffany. These roses have all performed really well for me and there are others too, but I don't need to name them all. I would like to know which newer varieties are as good or better than some of these.

Comments (20)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago

You might check out Red Intuition (a striped red from Palatine) and Peter Mayle (a shocking pink BIG bloom) and Elina--whitish/pale yellowish blooms--big bush. I don't grow many HTs, but those have been excellent in my garden.

Kate

• kingcobbtx7b
    10 years ago

Twilight zone, Tahitian sunset, serindipity, easy living, easy going, grande same. All bloom their heads off.

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

Dick Clark is my favorite newer HT. The blooms are a little bit on the smaller size but it m akes up for that by blooming it's head off. It has pretty good disease resistance and is hardy for me. One of the few highly hyped new roses that actually lived up to it's ads.

I've also been loving my new Love Song. Gorgeous huge blooms and lots of them, better than average disease resistance too. But I don't know about hardiness yet because I only got it this spring. I'm hoping though!

• sara_ann-z6bok
    Original Author
    10 years ago