Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
knoxrosetn

At what temps. do you worry about the safety of potted roses?

KnoxRose z7
9 years ago

Hello all!

I have lots of roses in various sizes of pots on my front porch (covered porch & on a cement slab shared with my home) and a few more in the back yard, sitting on the driveway not protected in any way. Both locations have a decent amount of sunlight. Since this is my first year with potted roses, I am not sure when I need to move them closer to my house/ put them in the unheated basement/ or if I should provide any protection for them at all. I am in zone 7a, it has just started dipping down into winter temperatures, with the nights staying somewhere right above freezing, and increasingly common frosts, but the days still somewhat warm. I know it is probably early to worry, but I want to make sure I'm not taking any risks.

I know that roses can handle a decent amount of cold, but I just get worried when I see the frost, I just don't know how much cold potted roses can handle, especially young ones. I know several of you have large container gardens or "pot ghettos", I always hear people to refer to them, and it seems as though I have accidentally acquired one myself, what are your winter preparation practices?

Thank you!

Jessica.

Comments (25)

• susan4952
    9 years ago

In zone 5 , I start dragging them in after 3 nights of hard frost. Usually after thanksgiving. To a garage that rarely gets below 40. Make sure they are well watered. This includes tree roses. Some are 10 years old. I think in zone 7 u could get away with outdoor shelter and protect with mulch up against the house. You will be pruning the winter damage in the spring, so don't worry too much about that. Think of the roots and graft union.

• buford
    9 years ago