Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aggiebee

Rose climbing an oak tree?

aggiebee
13 years ago

Hi,

We've got a HUGE old oak tree in our front yard, with massive roots. The area around it is in full sun, almost the whole day, so I think it would be a great rose spot. This is because the lowest branches have been removed and the canopy thinned out. In fact, there are no branches until at least 20 feet up.

Would it be possible to train a rose up it? Maybe a vigorous climber like New Dawn? I am a total newbie to roses, but I would like a vigorous climber and preferably a repeat bloomer.

Could I plant a foot or two away and train the rose to the tree?

Do you need to have lower-down branches to make this work?

Any thoughts/advice welcome! TIA.

Comments (27)

• karl_bapst_rosenut
    13 years ago

Roses don't climb naturally. They don't have tendrils that curl around and attach to other things. Along a fence, a rambling rose may intertwine through the links or lay across the top but the rose doesn't actually climb. Those you see on Arbors or trellises, are often attached with ties of some sort. On buildings there are attachments used to hold the canes to surface.
    You have to figure a way to attach the rose to the tree without damaging and possibly eventually killing the tree. In zone 6b, winter may be severe enough to cause quite a bit of cane dieback, although New Dawn may be cane hardy in your area, spring pruning of cane dieback would be extremely difficult on really long canes.
    I'm not trying to talk you out of trying it, just making you aware of the many difficulties you could face.

• mrlike2u
    13 years ago

Karl's right It's a bit of a night mare for even a rambler before during and after establishing growth near a tree

New Dawn as would (all or most all) climbers would become real leggy on there way up 20 feet high and would look more like a one leafed palm tree with a few flowers arching on the top.

• aggiebee
    Original Author
    13 years ago