Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
mildew,fungus?

Posted by debandroses ok6 (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 2, 12 at 9:25

Due to long working hours I , unfortunately couldn't monitor my roses this last few weeks. when I went out yesterday they had what looked like black streaks on the leaves. It looked as though a small paint brush had been dipped in black paint and swiped over the leaves. I immediately sprayed with Bayer. What could this be? I couldn't find anything on line that resembled it. I just moved to northern okla from central okla and haven't encountered this before , even though I've been growing roses for about 10 yrs.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: mildew,fungus?

Is there a possibility that we could SEE this?

Either a digital photo -- OR a good alternative is leaves, laid in a flatbed scanner.

There are so many things that could cause this.

Jeri

o

Sorry, I'm really bad at this. But here goes...I sent the best I could find. This is more generalized but it's how it ends up looking.

o

Well, I'm in CA, rather than OK -- but if I saw that here, particularly this late in the year, I'd just chalk it up to some sort of damage, and not worry about it.

Someone closer to your area may have more helpful thoughts.

Jeri

o

I'd agree with that analysis. It looks like the leaves have experienced some cold weather. Diane

o

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Sun, Dec 2, 12 at 16:23

I agree. Leaves that have suffered some frost damage will get that black mottled look to them. At this late date in the season I wouldn't worry about it. They're about ready to drop now for the winter and they'll all get replaced with new growth in the spring.

o

Thanks to all for the reassurance! I always start with bands and didn't want my babies to die! Everything I know I've learned from lurking on this board and I've had wonderful success. I've never lost a rose and don't want to start now.

o Post a Follow-Up