Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roserich

anyone help with color wheel

Hello. I remember some of you all are well versed in color. I've purchased a color wheel to help with complementary and contrasting colors. Um. I'm not an artist and need a bit of help. If anyone would be so kind as to email me to help with usage. I'm attaching the photo and there is a reverse side too.
Susan
dee eye cee tee A at cee o m cee A S tee dot net
Thanks!

Comments (18)

• kittymoonbeam
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here's what I know-

The color wheel is a guide to mixing pigments. Pigments are derived from minerals and plant compounds. If you mix lots together you get brownish greyish color. If you mix them all together you get black in theory but I find mostly you get dark browns unless you use mostly blues and violets or deep reds.

To see the pure colors of nature, a prism is usually used to take "white" light and get the distinct colors of the rainbow from it. The colors you see are what you start with. So if you have a blue color similar to a prism blue, then you can begin to modify it by adding other pigments.

A color wheel organizes the colors so that relationships are easily seen. The 3 main colors are blue red and yellow (primary)and from them can be made other (secondary) colors by mixing them together. Orange lies between red and yellow because if you mix red and yellow pigments, you can create a variety of orange colors. The same is true for greens and purples/violets. You cannot create primary colors by using secondary colors unless by magic you were able to extract one of the primary colors out of a secondary color .

The colors next to the secondary colors are tertiary colors which are like secondaries but with more influence of a particular primary ( a red orange or a blue green for example.