Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellie479

Black tips? Puny Leaves?

ellie479
11 years ago

Just wondering what could be wrong with my Caldwell Pink (Pink Pet?). She's got black tips on some of her leaves, and almost all the new growth she got recently has turned out puny and with black tips. Some of the leaves are a bit shrively, some is shrively and crunchyish. Kinda reminds me of Spinach that's been in the fridge too long or something lol. For the most part, I'd say 95% of her is healthy, but she's obviously trying to tell me something!

I periodically spray with a vinegar/water mixture (2 and a halfish teaspoons to a quart) for BS and fertilized with MiracleGro rose fertilizer last week (the pink powder mix). I water like every other day and use my jet setting on the hose to keep away spider mites. I dote on her. She's my first and only rose :P (newbie here, hello, hi lol)

I attached a not so great pic of a wayward branch I clipped today, hopefully you can see what I'm talking about and help me figure out what she wants from me :P Thanks!

Comments (9)

• jerijen
    11 years ago

Those leaves look pretty good, from here.

Jeri

• ellie479
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Sorry, here are some better pics. You can see some of the leaves aren't smooth, but, I don't know - bubbly? They're also tiny, and with those black tips I mentioned. I don't know if they're in a growth stage or what, I'm a rookie, so.....?????? lol

{{gwi:348556}}

{{gwi:348557}}

{{gwi:348558}}

I've also got some really weird leaf formations - don't think they're hurting the plant, but I'm just curious as to what's going on.

{{gwi:348559}}

{{gwi:348560}}
    They're heart shaped. Lol, my rose loves me :P

• jerijen
    11 years ago

Well, the tip damage looks like your spray puddled there, and burned the leaves. Why are you spraying with vinegar? I've never heard of that, and I would be concerned about leaf-damage.

Jeri

• ellie479
    Original Author
    11 years ago