Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bebba1

tiny, sooty dots EVERYWHERE

bebba1
10 years ago

I have been growing roses in the same bed for 35 years here in Marin County, California, north of S.F. Near-organic, spray only once when I prune in late winter. Gradually, the blackspot has almost disappeared (I maintain scrupulous garden hygiene), rust almost the same. But this year, for the first time EVER, I've got tiny, VERY black, sooty dots of some kind of fungus all over the backs of my leaves! Have not sprayed except with some baking soda, which didn't help much. Also, I have seen this same fungus (I'm assuming it's a fungus) in my neighborhood, like on tree leaves. Should I worry, or is it something seasonal that will go away? (Have coped by cutting off all affected leaves.)

Comments (8)

• Poorbutroserich Susan Nashville
    10 years ago

Since no one else has answered, I'll take a stab. A photo would be really helpful. It's possible your problem is aphids. They leave stuff called "sooty mold" on rose leaves. Without googling it I seem to remember that it comes from the aphids secretions?
    Google "sooty mold" and see if that is your issue.
    Best of luck,
    Susan

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    10 years ago

My first thought were bugs of some sort too since it was just on the back of the leaves. I know Lace Bugs leave such spots (their "scat") on the backs of leaves, but they aren't known to infest Roses. Californians have a whole host of bugs that may infest roses that we don't have - much like rust (which is non existant to most of us). It could be the "leavings" of aphids too. If you have a reliable nursery or county Ag office, you may want to take a leaf in to them for analysis........Maryl

• jerijen
    10 years ago

Without seeing it, I also suggest that you may have black sooty mould. See:

http://farmerfredrant.blogspot.com/2012/01/controlling-sooty-mold.html
    and link, below.

"What is Sooty Mold?