Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dregae

horse manure application

I have the opportunity to get some composted horse manure for free, but I was wondering when would be the best to apply it. Should I wait till spring, or go ahead and apply it now. I don't want to encourage any new growth, I have never used horse manure before so I would appreciate any advice.

grace e

Comments (19)

• jerijen
    11 years ago

In our experience, the application of horse manure produced a LOT of new growth and bloom.

I don't know what your climate is, so I cannot say if that is a good idea where you are. (It would be fine in Southern CA, but perhaps not in 6a Indiana?)

Jeri

• seil zone 6b MI
    11 years ago

If your roses are already dormant for the winter you can go ahead and apply it now for great growth next spring. If they're still growing I'd wait until they are fully dormant to put it on. You don't want to encourage a lot of new growth this late in the season that will deplete your rose's stored energy for next spring and you'll just lose over the winter anyway.

• strawchicago z5
    11 years ago

I have been using horse manure for 2 years in zone 5a. Horse manure is low in nitrogen, but high in potassium. Potassium is needed for winter hardiness and to fight diseases.

It's best to test the pH in horse manure before using it. I outlined a procedure to test your pH using 50 cents of fresh red cabbage and $1 of distilled water. If you google in this forum for "red cabbage juice and pH" you will find the procedure.