Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kiwi_bro

Establishing Rambling Roses

kiwi.bro
9 years ago

Hiya!

I'm completely new to growing roses but I've recently planted (approx 5 months ago) a Westerland rambling type rose and I'm not exactly sure what I am supposed to be doing to help it establish.

I've seen some advice that suggests that I should debud any potential flowers in the first year?

So far I have allowed only 2 shoots from the 2 original rose canes (1 from each) to grow, but I noticed today that I have a very large shoot that has developed from the shank. Should I leave that to grow or remove it? It seems to be growing a lot faster than any of the others.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Just a note, I'm in New Zealand so we are 5 days into summer here.

Comments (5)

• kiwi.bro
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I thought perhaps a picture may help...

• lynnette
    9 years ago

From your photo, it appears that the rose is doing very well and won't need any help at all. In the PNW in Canada, Westerland is a climber that likes to grow sideways, so you have it in an ideal position as it will enjoy going along a fence. The tall cane may look like the tallest now, but give the rose time and you will find that there will be other canes also tall. Westerland is a vigorous rose and should cause you no problems at all. It isn't wise to cut any canes off as the rose will need them all to survive. Just let it grow the way it wants to. Some people do take off the new buds the first year but they do it usually to give the plant more strength. Westerland doesn't need any help to grow well. Give it water and keep the soil damp but not soggy. After the first flush of flowers, sprinkle a handful of any type of rose fertilizer all around the base. You made a good choice so just sit back and enjoy your rose. Here is what you will see when it blooms.

• wirosarian_z4b_WI
    9 years ago