Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heavenlyfarm

Newbie to rose seeds!! a few questions!

heavenlyfarm
10 years ago

Okay, I'm sorry if this is somewhere in this forums posts previously and I'm not a consistent roses forum visitor but I have a few questions! I do have several roses so I'm not completely new btw :P I just usually buy my roses when they are nicely sized already lol
Anyways, I see a few people who have rose seeds for trade and such, my questions are:
1. How long do they usually take till they usually have their first blooms?
2. I'm not so much concerned about color as that can be a left as a nice surprise but I would like highly fragrant roses, so should I only be growing rose seeds from fragrant varieties or is that also left to chance?
3. Could I winter sow seeds? It's my first year trying that with other seeds so I figure why not rose seeds? lol

I'm certainly up for a challenge but I'm not quite sure on details of growing seeds so open to helpful websites or direction! Again, sorry for asking questions that may be newbie ones and I thought I'd post here first instead of "growing from seed" as this is more specific!
~Michael
Thanks for putting up with me :) lol

Comments (3)

• roseseek
    10 years ago

Happy Holidays, Michael!

1. How long do they usually take till they usually have their first blooms?

Six weeks to never. Some can flower within a month and a little more. Some never flower. Not all are able to flower.

2. I'm not so much concerned about color as that can be a left as a nice surprise but I would like highly fragrant roses, so should I only be growing rose seeds from fragrant varieties or is that also left to chance?

Pretty much left to chance. Two highly scented roses can easily produce one without scent, and vice versa. There are many things which affect scent. An old article of mine on Help Me Find - Roses helps to shed some light on scent. There are likely more recent discoveries, but the basics are still there.