Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redwolfdoc_z5

What's in a name?

redwolfdoc_z5
9 years ago

Hello All,

Let's digress just a bit, shall we? I really enjoyed the revival and continuance of the bad rose name thread on this forum and it got me to wondering - are there stories behind your user names?

My own was given to me by a colleague several years ago when she discovered that I didn't have an eBay account. It's pretty straightforward - I was a conservation biology doctoral student at the time and my research was all about the red wolf. I'm currently a stay-at-home mom and the name reminds me of that other life. While life as a mom is fulfilling and wonderful in many ways, I do miss my work. The name is a nice reminder that I can be someone other than "Mommy". :)

Anyone else?
Karen

Comments (19)

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago

Seil was given to me by my friends of more than 50 years. We call ourselves the "Group W" after the Arlo Guthrie song from "Alice's Restaurant". We used to number around a dozen but have lost several members recently and there are only 5 of us left. But we still all get together as often as we can. We were talking about nicknames one evening many, many years ago and I said I'd never had one because there wasn't really any good ones for my given name, Sharon, and I didn't like Shar at all. They came up with Seil and I've used it ever since. It is pronounced like the animal, seal, by the way, and I've since learned there is an island off the coast of Scotland with the name. It's famous for its ancient Roman bridge that is still in use!

• roseseek
    9 years ago