Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
damask55linen

What's wrong with Abraham Darby?

damask55linen
10 years ago

Last summer the Rose Nursery Lady here in North Idaho said seriously " I will not carry Abraham Darby." My hopes wilted, but I didn't ask, why not? When it comes to roses, everybody has to deal with some faults.
AD has such a high rating as a favorite rose, I'm wondering whether or not to order Abe before they are sold out again. At Northland Rosarium the really popular roses go quicker than you can shake a stick at, so I have to come to some decisions.
Anybody ordering from Carol, the wonderfully dear owner? I'm curious what you want this year, she has a incredible line up that makes it so hard to land on just a few.
Ihope that picture loaded right, it's my first try to add a snapshot of Just Joey and and unknown

Comments (42)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago

My understanding that is although Abe Darby has beautiful blooms, it is a disease magnet or at least too prone to BS--which might not be a big problem if you live in California, but certainly would if you lived almost anywhere else in the USA.

Kate

• Diannadesigns gardens
    10 years ago

I have had Abe for about 10 years. It has been a disease magnet for me for sure! Not just black spot either. It has had thrips most every year, the sawfly eat the leaves clear off so the plant is bald most of the year, and sometimes the buds rot off before they open.
    Just to show you, I have tried....I moved it about 5 times over the years, just figuring it wasn't happy where it was. Last year I got frustrated and put it in a pot, it was happier there than anywhere, but right now it is in that pot on the back porch in -9 degree weather and I don't care if it doesn't make it. Abe is a diva that I am tired of coddling! buy at your own risk.

• buford
    10 years ago

I don't find it more of a BS magnet than most Austins. The flowers are worth it.

• lynnette
    10 years ago