Return to the Antique Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
About Young Lycidas

Posted by jumbojimmy (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 17, 14 at 4:28

Am I the only one who have a Young Lycidas rose that does not look anything like David Austin's promo pics?

I've been growing this rose for two years. Instead of getting purplish cupped blooms, my Young Lycidas flowers always look pinkish red (carmine) and are irregular formed. By irregular, I mean I don't get those perfect rosettee shape when the buds open out. In other words, the blooms look imperfect and horrible.

What could be the caused for this? Thnx

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: About Young Lycidas

• Posted by hoovb z9 Southern CA (My Page) on
    Mon, Feb 17, 14 at 14:10

My flowers improved greatly in year 3. They were pretty bad at first.

Also, plenty of water & fertilizer required for this one, I think.

o

My Young Lycidas, which I've had about a year, did have purplish and cupped blooms from the beginning, although fuchsia might be a better way to describe the color. Other than that it's been quite a disappointment, especially for a bare-root from Austin that should be fairly sturdy to begin with compared to a band. It's just sitting there, almost leafless, rather moribund compared to the roses around it that are leafing out madly in this unseasonably warm winter. I'll fertilize it to see if that will help re hoovb's suggestion.

Ingrid

o

I really hope so. I water this rose everyday and feed it with both miracle grow and organic pellets every three weeks,

o

Mine's pretty disappointing so far as well (two years in ground) and I'm in a similar climate (Adelaide) to you.

I'm going to give it one more season and hopefully it will come good in Year 3, otherwise it's out.

o