Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjstatz

Rose order

jjstatz
10 years ago

So, I'm incredibly antsy from this winter and putting together a rose order. I'm no stranger to growing them, but wanted to hear your success stories and horror stories with these particular varieties I've ordered - They're going to be lining my front steps and have been selected for first fragrance and for color.

Charles Darwin (I know, parchment/flesh tone dreadfull-ness, but I'm kinda into it)
Crown Princess Margareta
Fragrant Cloud
Star of the Nile
Jude the Obscure
Lady of Megginch
and Young Lycidas - who will be coming from DA instead of Heirloom.

All own root, other than the YL, coming from Heirloom.

Comments (7)

• Alana8aSC
    10 years ago

I've grown CPM for years and love it! Mine is grafted though..so it makes alittle difference. Mine is also in partial shade, it does sprawl alittle, as others will probably tell you..I'm not an expert, so you can wait on their opinions, but I love mine :)

• growing_rene2
    10 years ago

I am also incredibly antsy for winter to be over. The only rose I can speak on, so far, is Fragrant Cloud. I am in zone 7 & this was one of my favorites last year. It has a beautiful bloom, even in its first year. The only problem I had was a bit of black spot, though it never stopped blooming. That being said, last year was my first year of my obsession for roses and I am quite a newbie, therefore knew not of preventative measures against bs. Congratulations on your new babies, I hope they all thrive beautifully for you!
    ~Rene

• jjstatz
    Original Author
    10 years ago