Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
floweryearth

Roses whose scent carries around the garden...

floweryearth
14 years ago

Hi,

I have been planning my new garden for about two weeks now, and had a question for my rose garden.

I wanted to place some exceptionally fragrant old roses in a border that I could smell from a bench (which will also be inside the border).

The reason for this post is that since I'm a rose newb, I don't know whether the roses I plan on planting will have a scent strong enough to waft to the closely surrounding areas.

On my list, I have La Ville de Bruxelles, Chapeau de Napoleon, Ypsilanti, Belle de Crecy (2), and Felicite Parmentier.

On my alternative list, I have Kazanlik, Autumn Damask, Apothecary's Rose, Semi Plena, and the Cabbage Rose.

At this point, all I want are the most fragrant ones that I will be able to smell without having to stick my nose right in the flower.

If anyone knows if my first list should be close in strength to the second list, please tell me. I want the roses in the first list for the beauty of the blooms, but if their scent doesn't travel, I'll choose the other ones.

Thanks in advance

Comments (63)

• labi_OHz6
    14 years ago

Oh, gardenatlanta, you've just given me the most wonderful olfactory flashback to the years I lived in Charleston SC - and the scent of the sweet olives. Sure wish I could grow it in my current garden. But thank you!

• lori_elf z6b MD
    14 years ago