Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teeandcee_gw

Pruning Zephirine Drouhin?

teeandcee
15 years ago

I keep reading conflicting info regarding pruning Zephirine Drouhin. Since I also read she's either a once bloomer or repeat bloomer I can't figure pruning out. I live in southwest Missouri and wanted to know if I prune her in the spring or not? Does she require regular pruning? She's putting out a lot of pretty new growth currently. This is my first year growing her. She's about 3 by 3 feet.

Any help appreciated!

Comments (38)

• cincy_city_garden
    15 years ago

Zeffy isn't considered a once bloomer, but you might not get any good repeat until the bush has matured. Mine is coming into its 4th year, and I had some scattered repeat last year. As for regular pruning, that depends on how much space you want to give her. She is quite vigorous grower, throwing out 8 to 10 feet (at least) canes. She's going to get big in no time.

"Normal" pruning consists of taking out the canes that have become woody and unproductive, allowing new canes to come up from the base. You would prune in Spring. You also want to prune according to the 3 Ds: take out Dead, Diseased, and Damaged wood.

Check out this video from Paul Zimmerman at Ashdown Roses:

Eric

Here is a link that might be useful: Pruning Roses That Grow from the Base

• cincy_city_garden
    15 years ago

Meant to post a picture. Here's a mature specimen at the Columbus Garden of Roses. They've let the plant fountain out naturally. Hopefully Florence (Zeffyrose) will post a pic of her Zeffy, it's really glorious. Not sure how she prunes hers.

{{gwi:243062}}

• teeandcee
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks, Cincy. That pic is luscious! I'm excited about mine. She's planted at the stairs leading up to the second-story deck, so I plan on fanning her out horizontally along the railing. Wow!