Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tuderte

Can this really be Rosa Sombreuil?

tuderte
9 years ago

Last year I bought several 'own root' old garden roses from a long-established nursery here in Italy. One of the roses was the 'Sombreuil' climbing rose - not 'Mlle. de Sombreuil' tea rose.

The plant was very small so I put it in a 30 cm (12 inch) pot. I was very excited when I noticed that it had several buds. Three days ago one of the buds opened and, although the flower is beautiful I really doubt that it is 'Sombreuil'. I'm attaching a photo (I hope - this is my first attempt) and hope that someone with experience of this rose might be able to confirm whether the rose looks like this in early Spring.

The rose at this stage is approximately 30 cms tall with a diameter of approx. 40 cms.

Perhaps the flowers will change as the bush gets older?

Comments (37)

• trospero
    9 years ago

No, that is not the climber we grow in North America as 'Sombreuil'.

• jerijen
    9 years ago

Agree with Paul. That is NOT the H.wich climber grown in North America as "Sombreuil." (See that rose, below.)

Jeri

• Poorbutroserich Susan Nashville
    9 years ago

Looks like Reve D'or to me.
    Susan

• portlandmysteryrose
    9 years ago

It appears to be tea-like to me, too, Susan. Tuderte, I'd email the nursery where you purchased your plant and include your photo in the letter. I think the seller should send you another (real) Sombreuil. If the nursery has an ID answer for your current not-Sombreuil, please post. Now I'm curious. You might have a really great old rose! Carol

• portlandmysteryrose
    9 years ago

By tea-like, I meant tea or tea-noisette. I can't really tell the difference between the two when the plants and blooms are babies. Carol

• jerijen
    9 years ago