Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sara_ann_gw

Prettiest Antique Rose Blooms?

sara_ann-z6bok
9 years ago

Since I am a novice at growing antique roses I am curious to know which ones in your opinion have the prettiest blooms? I've seen quite a few pictures of some lovely ones. Two that stand out for me are Fantin Latour and Marchesa Boccella. Which ones are some of your favorites for beauty of bloom?

Comments (19)

• Curdle 10a (Australia)
    9 years ago

Havent got many truly antique ones (curse you Austin catalogues for your budget sucking promises of easily obtained, compact size, fragrance and beautiful old fashioned type flowers) yet.. .
    Classic choice would be Souvenir de la Malmaison; its glowingly pretty, pinky and fragrant..but sometimes its just a bit too perfect.
    I have a soft spot for Perle D'or... tiny but cute..those little apricot ribbons are just lovely.

• sara_ann-z6bok
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Curdle - I would agree about SDLM, I just planted two of them. Perle D'or sounds like a really good rose and the blooms are lovely.

• Poorbutroserich Susan Nashville
    9 years ago

today it is Reve d'Or!
    susan

• ogrose_tx
    9 years ago

I'm a sucker for Duchesse de Brabant.

• monarda_gw
    9 years ago

Those that have survived tend to be among the prettiest -- they have survived in cultivation for hundreds of years for that reason. Of course they are not "pretty" according to the criteria of modern hybrid teas, but according to a whole other standard, more like that of wild flowers -- or bushes - and old paintings.

• sara_ann-z6bok
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ogrose - That rose is lovely. Monarda, to me they are pretty, that is why I want to learn more about them from people who grow them.

• monarda_gw
    9 years ago