Return to the Antique Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Prettiest Antique Rose Blooms?

Posted by Sara-Ann z6b OK (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 5, 14 at 18:32

Since I am a novice at growing antique roses I am curious to know which ones in your opinion have the prettiest blooms? I've seen quite a few pictures of some lovely ones. Two that stand out for me are Fantin Latour and Marchesa Boccella. Which ones are some of your favorites for beauty of bloom?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Prettiest Antique Rose Blooms?

• Posted by curdle 9b, Australia (My Page) on
    Sun, Apr 6, 14 at 9:44

Havent got many truly antique ones (curse you Austin catalogues for your budget sucking promises of easily obtained, compact size, fragrance and beautiful old fashioned type flowers) yet.. .
Classic choice would be Souvenir de la Malmaison; its glowingly pretty, pinky and fragrant..but sometimes its just a bit too perfect.
I have a soft spot for Perle D'or... tiny but cute..those little apricot ribbons are just lovely.

o

Curdle - I would agree about SDLM, I just planted two of them. Perle D'or sounds like a really good rose and the blooms are lovely.

o

today it is Reve d'Or!
susan

o

I'm a sucker for Duchesse de Brabant.

o

Those that have survived tend to be among the prettiest -- they have survived in cultivation for hundreds of years for that reason. Of course they are not "pretty" according to the criteria of modern hybrid teas, but according to a whole other standard, more like that of wild flowers -- or bushes - and old paintings.

o

Ogrose - That rose is lovely. Monarda, to me they are pretty, that is why I want to learn more about them from people who grow them.

o