Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mlle_melanie

A lovely wave of roses

mlle_melanie
9 years ago

I thought I would share a picture of this beautiful rose bush in my neighborhood with all you forum peeps. I think it's a miniature climbing rose, but I'm no expert. Isn't it gorgeous? Spring in New Orleans ALMOST makes up for the brutal summer to follow.

Comments (9)

• mlle_melanie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Climbing Pinkie, I guess?

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    9 years ago

I don't believe it's Cl. Pinkie because the flowers look as though they're quite double, which Cl. Pinkie is not. It could be one of the old ramblers which put on a huge show in the spring but are once-blooming. Since it's in your neighborhood you can check later in the year to see if it blooms again.

Ingrid

• heavenlyrose-zone7nc
    9 years ago

That looks like a polyantha to me . I think it might be "The Fairy".

• mlle_melanie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I'll definitely keep my eye on it, and maybe get closer for a smell-test and detail pics. There are lots more roses that look like OGRs around here, too. Maybe I'll start a new thread, "Roses in my Neighborhood, for Enjoyment and Possible Identification."

• ms. violet grey
    9 years ago

Peggy Martin?

• portlandmysteryrose
    9 years ago

Melanie, beautiful pink rose, especially against the blue house. A color combo I adore. And speaking of the blue house, it looks antique (folk Victorian style?)--charming, cottage-like and positively perfect. I'll take the house and the rose. How's your garden growing this spring? :-) Carol

• mlle_melanie
    Original Author
    9 years ago