Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
knoxrosetn

My David Austin bare roots arrived today & I am very disappointed

KnoxRose z7
9 years ago

Hello, I am very new to growing english roses, and really most roses in general, so I would like some opinions on this problem I am experiencing. I ordered 3 bare root roses directly from David Austin, when I came home from work today the box was here waiting, I have been SO excited about them for some time, but when I open them up & start to look over them I am very surprised and disappointed in what I find, out of the three bare roots I ordered only one of them was a perfect specimen, the other two have a couple of issues I wanted to ask about.
First and foremost my "Lady of Shalott" has a big fat split down the center stalk, starting right between the only two big roots that are on the plant, it is so bad that one half of it will need to be removed (it probably would just fall of during planting it is so bad), leaving only one main root, which will provide absolutely NO stability in the ground at all, not to mention the lack of nutrients this plant will inevitably experience because of the small root system & the probability of disease from having a big wound right in the center of the plant.