Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lam702

blush hip alba

lam702
9 years ago

I have no experience with antique roses, so please excuse my ignorance. Last spring I planted Blush Hip, this winter was one of the worst in years. The rose died back quite a bit, to about 9 - 12". But its still alive, lots of green coming up, and it looks like its suckering too. I pruned out the dead wood, but I was wondering, will I get any roses? Do albas bloom on old wood, new wood or both? Not much I can do about it, the dieback had to go but I would love to see a blossom or 2.

Comments (7)

• mariannese
    9 years ago

Albas bloom on old wood only.

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    9 years ago

You should try to figure out what caused the dieback. It wasn't the winter. Did it put on a lot of growth late in the season that didn't have a chance to harden off?

(I have noisettes with more live wood than that)

• lam702
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I guess I assumed that the die back was due to our unusually harsh winter, temps went below 0 and it was the first winter for this rose in my garden. The buds that are breaking out and the suckers look very healthy though.

9 years ago

An alba should be perfectly tip hardy to well below -20F. I've had roses survive -30F without any damage. While there were areas that did get cold this past winter, we don't live in one of them. If anything, the lows were a bit on the high side. Anything that couldn't handle this winters cold basically isn't a zone 5 plant, and would be killed off by a 'typical' winter.

It was warm enough that my teenaged daughter once again went all winter without having to wear her winter coat.

• lam702
    Original Author
    9 years ago