Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
violetgrey

Plastic Pots

ms. violet grey
9 years ago

I bought this plum colored plastic pot on a whim. Do I need to punch a hole?

Comments (17)

• ms. violet grey
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Is the size okay for a rose? All my roses are in ground. Pot newbie here.

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago

It's a good size but, yes, you need to take the bottom tray off and drill more holes in it for roses. Unless when you take off that tray all those holes I see become open. But I would still drill one in the center where I don't see one now. Drainage is the most important thing in growing roses in pots. That and good POTTING soil, not garden or top soil.

What rose have you picked out for it?!

• ms. violet grey
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Seil, I'm considering Sonia Rykiel.
    The bottom tray twists. The saleslady didn't think it twisted completely off. I see so many pretty pots without holes. Manufacturers!

• lynnette
    9 years ago

The small circles are just very thin plastic and should push out using anything blunt.

• Poorbutroserich Susan Nashville
    9 years ago

Holes should also be on the sides as I am a "pot oldie" and have lost roses to poor drainage when holes are sitting on soil. I throw some oyster grit in the bottom and remember to water well down there in Texas. And remember too, potted roses are considered exposed to a zone colder too. Those are the rookie mistakes that did me in.
    Susan

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago

Get the tray off even if you have to break some plastic to do it. If you get the pot up off the surface, on a pot trolley or trivet, you won't have a problem with soil blocking the drainage of the bottom holes. Besides, the wheeled pot trolleys make it so much easier to move a heavy pot with wet soil and a full grown rose in it! I buy mine at Big Lots or Harbor Freight.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago