Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jayanti_gw

Planting in alkaline, clay soil

jayanti
16 years ago

I was out yesterday when my car started to act strange, and drove me into the nursery that we were passing by. Well, since I was there, I looked around and noticed Belinda's dream. I couldn't pass up a rose that was on my list, so I grabbed her along with a Lady Banks white rose. They're now sitting in my backyard while I'm trying to figure out the best way to plant them in our alkaline, clay soil. (I believe my soil pH is about 7.5). It's my first time planting roses, so any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Jayanti

Comments (10)

• patricianat
    16 years ago

I have soil at about that range in most of my garden. I started out with nothing but clay and I have worked it over the years, but the two roses you purchased would probably have no problem growing in that clay soil. These are two great choices, and give each plenty of room.

• sylviatexas1
    16 years ago

They'll thrive!

I've grown both just south of you, similar soil (but I think it's higher than 7.5), & both have been just wonderful.

• jayanti
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you both for the encouragement!

What is the best way to amend this soil to create the right environment for roses? I've got compost and pinebark mulch. I plan to add the compost, of course. Should I add the pinebark mulch in the hole as well or just on top of the soil (after planting)? Is a hole that's twice the width of the rootball adequate? What else should I be adding when I plant roses?

Thanks!

Jayanti

• cweathersby
    16 years ago

Jayanti,
    My soil is very acidic but is clay.
    My roses grew in leaps and bounds and I think the trick was the planting hole. I dug a big hole for each rose, almost 2' / 2' and took the soil out and replaced it with compost from our local wastewater plant. That gives lots of room for the roots to grow and thrive.