fogrose
9 years ago

I'm down with a cold/flu so at least I got a bit of cheer from Vintage:

Here's my confirmed roses-

Waretown Mystery (Hybrid China)
Brenda (Eglantine )
Light Pink Eglantine from SJHRG
Gloire des Polyantha

I had really hoped for some rare Hybrid Perpetuals and a Tea and a Moss. I wish I knew how it's determined as to who gets what because I hit send exactly as the computer clock changed.

Diane

Comments (38)

• BlushingNewbieRose

Hello, all, newbie here:

I was literally weeping at 7:01, when I clicked "send". I got 1/3 of my list, and several from my alternate. I have a couple of questions about some. But first, the list:

1.Vanguard
    2.Paul Transon
    3.Pride of Oakland
    4.Baronne Henriette de Snoy
    5.Padre
    6.Audie Murphy (in honor of my dad)
    7.Break o' Day
    8.Deep Secret
    9.Mendocino Pernetiana

1. Beryl (HT)
    2. Roxburgii normalis
    3. Legacy of Elizabeth Moore

It's a kind of a hodge-podge, and I really should have done more reading, but I didn't have any time (missed the chance at a Forestville). I made the mistake of sentimentalizing in my alternate list--I asked Gregg to try to include something found and hardy from California, as I'd grown up in the Bay Area. Accordingly, he is sending me three I know nothing about (but obviously am thrilled to have): Beryl, Mendocino Pernienta and Legacy of Elizabeth Moore.

I'm now overcome with a sense of terror. What if I kill them? What if he doesn't understand the goofiness of my climate (very occasional freak cold down to about -15ú, occasional spazzy heat, once as bad as 118ú)? What if he's entrusting me with three precious unknowns--never to be grown again unknowns--in the sweet, silly, misguided assumption that I know what the heck I'm doing? I break out in a cold sweat just thinking about it.

Please, someone, hold my hand. What does Mendocino Pernienta look like? What are its "habits, tastes, accomplishments?" Thank you in advance!

Erica

• BlushingNewbieRose