Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zeffyrose

How to keep the deer away from new buds !!!

zeffyrose
16 years ago

Last year the deer ate the buds in my MacCartney Rose----

Not this year-----so far so good---

{{gwi:270331}}

Florence

Comments (12)

• zeffyrose
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Last year the deer almost killed my Ghislane de Felgonde

I piled two fences ---one on top of the other to protect her tiny buds---I'm anxious to see her blooms??

This won't work when she gets taller .
    {{gwi:270332}}

Florence

• zeffyrose
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Last year the deer almost killed my Ghislane de Felgonde

I piled two fences ---one on top of the other to protect her tiny buds---I'm anxious to see her blooms??

This won't work when she gets taller .
    {{gwi:270332}}

Florence

• bluesibe
    16 years ago

Florence, I have been using Liquid Fence for 3 to 4 years with good success. You would need to apply after it rains. I also hang cd's on the roses to frighten the deer.
    Carol

• paparoseman
    16 years ago

Florence, a rosarian from the local club had her roses found by the local deer even though she is in a heavily traveled area. She and her husband set some seven foot poles into the ground and ran fruit tree netting from pole to pole. They used little clips in certain areas so they could get in to prune the roses. After they put the netting up the deer stopped eating the roses. The roses are completely visible to passers by and can even be smelled but the deer leave them alone. When the deer reach out to take a bite their nose hits the invisible netting and it scares them because they do not know what just happened.

Lance

• jbcarr
    16 years ago