Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reneek_gw

How to pot bareroot roses?

reneek
16 years ago

Ok, I am kinda chickening out from direct planting the bareroot roses that I am expecting soon. Someone mentioned in another thread that she is going to pot her new roses. I wanted to know what I needed to do from start to finish to facilitate that. Keep in mind that I'm a newbie and totally clueless as to what I am doing. lol

The reason why I am chicken is because we are getting zero rainfall and the ground is a solid hard clay at the moment. I guess I can soak it then try to till it with the rototiller. On the other hand, can I realistically expect to keep roses in nursery pots from now until the fall??

TIA,

Renee

Comments (21)

• patricianat
    16 years ago

It's a little hot for bare-roots right now. You would be wise to put them in pots, making sure the pot is large enough with good potting soil. A pot will allow you to keep them in some shade which they will need in these hot days. Keep moist but not soppy wet. Just pretend your pot is the ground. Put a mound of soil in the middle to spread the roots over. Cover with more soil and water well. Keep it in some filtered sunlight. It is just too hot right now for bare-root roses.

• hartwood
    16 years ago

All of my 60+ roses are currently living in pots. Almost all of them started their lives with me during the past 3 years either bare-root or as a mail-order band. Here's what a trusted rose friend told me to do, and it has worked very well for me.

My bare root roses are in the large,cheap plastic pots from Walmart -- the label on the side says that the pot holds 21 quarts of soil. The soil mix is one bag of Scotts Garden soil, an equal amount of peat moss, and some coarse sand or perlite. I mix this by hand in a large wheelbarrow. This size batch will plant 3 roses.