Return to the Antique Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tell me about Wollerton Old Hall

Posted by JoshTx 8a (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 29, 13 at 17:03

I am considering purchasing a WOH from DA for the garden next year. Does anyone have experience growing it in the southern United States? Thanks!

Josh

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tell me about Wollerton Old Hall

Josh, I have no experience with this rose, but on Helpmefind a poster states that the rose finishes with a dirty white color. In a hot climate it may fade to an undesirable color rather quickly for a good part of the time, something to consider. It may also need a lot of water, with those large and deeply cupped flowers. These are just suppositions since I've never grown this rose.

Ingrid

o

Mmmm, I think it is a weird and bland colour (but I also think Souvenir de la Malmaison is too) and believe that Jude the Obscure provides a cleaner coloration with exactly the same form and a penetrating fruity scent.

o

and it flops all over the place. I had to put mine in an obelisk to get it to stand up.

o

Mine is very healthy and growing well but I am wondering about these long canes.......it seems to bloom pretty well - I cant remember about the scent, but its not strong from what I recall. The blooms are pretty - OK not outstanding. I have seen clusters of blooms - It is very healthy and disease free thus far - a pretty shrub even without blooms. Since its a first year plant........I am not expecting lots of blooms just yet. The jury is still out on this one, in my opinion. Dont love it or hate it so far - just waiting to see what it will do in the next year or so. At least it is a very healthy plant!
Judith

o

It has a strong scent here but I hate the growth. Really these sorts of roses should only be sold as climbers.

o