Return to the Antique Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Love the new Austin cut roses

Posted by mustbnuts Zone 9 Sunset 9 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 24, 14 at 0:46

I am nuts over Kate and Edith. I know that often cut roses don't do well in the garden, but does anyone know if they will ever be offered for us "regular" gardeners?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Love the new Austin cut roses

Most probably not. At least not under the same names.
Nik

o

Maybe you could try growing them from cuttings?

Here is a link that might be useful: this was an inspiring thread

o

They are copyrighted btw, whatever this info is worth.
Nik

o

But you can still grow cuttings for your own pleasure, right?

Tineke and Veronika were originally released as cut-flower glasshouse roses, but they are now offered as garden plants. Maybe it's just a matter of time.

o

I'm not sure that you can actually, since a rose plant is not sold to you in the first place but I'm not an expert in copyright law :)

On top of copyrighted all Austins are trademarked so even when the copyright runs out the plant cannot be sold under that name.
Nik

o

I'm not sure that you can actually, since a rose plant is not sold to you in the first place but I'm not an expert in copyright law :)

On top of copyrighted all Austins are trademarked so even when the copyright runs out the plant cannot be sold under that name.
Nik

o

In reality it probably wouldn't be a big deal if you managed to propagate one plant for private use, but in theory no plant that is under patent still should be asexually propagated until that patent period has come to an end or you have permission from the breeder/owner of the rights which is usually acquired by paying some sort of fee.