Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sidos_house

Suggestions needed for pink tree-climber

sidos_house
10 years ago

I've been puzzling over this for a couple months. We have two cedars a few yards from our dining room doors that seem to serve as natural sentries from the herbaceous border that surrounds our house to the rest of the property. I would like to decorate them with matching pink climbing roses. I purchased two Albertines from ARE but have since wondered if maybe she would be too vigorous for this area. I don't want completely massive here. Then I discovered that there was such a thing as Dainty Bess Climbing and bought two of those from RVR. Now I am concerned that maybe Dainty Bess might not be vigorous enough to make much headway on these trees, amongst the roots and other flowers. The area surrounding the cedar on the right is drier but not so bad that flowers and shrubs won't grow, they just grow a little more slowly. The area surrounding the cedar on left is lower and wetter, plants there become a bit exuberant, excepting a budded Abraham Darby I sloppily transplanted last fall. (It's trying but still iffy. Not sure if it is still recuperating from the transplanting or if the drainage is still too poor or if it just hates the Mexican Primrose surrounding it.) Now I am considering Madame Alfred Carriere.

As you can see, I am having a difficult time committing. I really don't want to make a mistake in this area. I've been so extremely happy with the roses I've received from ARE that I would prefer to plant a rose they offer this fall instead of waiting for a band-sized rose to bulk up enough.

What would you do?

Thanks so much for your help!

Comments (9)

• AquaEyes 7a NJ
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago