Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gwlolo

How to plant own root roses for long lasting success

gwlolo
10 years ago

I know soil prep is key to any success in the garden. I could use some advice on how to plant own root roses. Size of hole, what amendments, to fertilize or not, to mulch or not? How deep to plant? Remove foliage or keep it.

Comments (24)

• gryhwk2330
    10 years ago

Hi GWIolo

I'm new at this too but I'll throw my two cents in...

I dig a relatively deep hole and dump half a bag of composted cow manure in the hole. Then I plant the rose (usually bands) and fill in with a mixture of half composted cow manure and top soil. After that I water it well and cover it with 3-4 inches of mulch. Whatever is left above the mulch gets cut down to about six inches.

After that I basically just water when needed. After a couple of months I start fertilizing it with a time release fertilizer (Bayer) every six weeks or so and let nature do the rest.

This has worked on my bands so far and every one of them has sent up new canes within a month or so and has started blooming.

Good Luck!
    Kerry

• Lynn-in-TX-Z8b- Austin Area/Hill Country
    10 years ago

Hi,